Mayor’s Office

000_0016Michael P. Pavey (R)
765-932-4355 (Fax)

The government of cities is divided between the mayor and the common council. In Indiana, the mayor exercises the executive authority of the city (IC 36-4-4-3) and is primarily concerned with the overall day-to-day operations. The executive authority often is exercised through a board of works, city departments and the head of those departments. The common council exercises the city’s legislative authority (IC 36-4-4-4), makes laws that govern the city and appropriates the city’s monies.

The mayor serves for a term of four years; there are no term limits on this office position. A person is eligible to serve as mayor if he or she was a resident in the city for one year prior to the election (IC 3-1-8-26). If the mayor ceases to be a resident of the city, he or she forfeits his or her position (IC 36-4-5-2).

The Mayor’s office is located at 133 West First Street.
Office hours are 8 a.m. – 4 p.m., Monday – Friday.

Rushville Mayor Michael P. Pavey Bio